2016 Mentorships’ announced for writers and graphic novelists 

Recipients have been selected for the New Zealand Society of Authors Mentorship Programme 2016 with 14 chosen from a pool of 73 applicants. With a high standard of applications and wide variety of fascinating projects, the selection panel had their work cut out for them.

The 2016 mentees are a diverse group of emerging writers spread across a wide range of genres including: memoir, non-fiction, contemporary/literary fiction, young adult, poetry, speculative fiction, short fiction collection, historical fiction, genre fiction (thriller) and graphic novels.

The 2016 recipients are: Nathan Bennett, Jeni Curtis, Marilyn Garson, Sarah Harpur, Ara Kang, Samantha Keenan, Lynne Kohen, Olly Te Hata Ohlson, Callum Robertson, Dave Robertson, Julian Slade, Ryan Smith, Robyn White, and Lisa Williams. They will spend the remainder of 2016 honing their skills and developing their craft under the mentorship of some of New Zealand’s finest professional authors and comic / graphic novelists.

Literary selection panel convener Lee Murray commented “all of these writers, in time, have the potential to become literary stars”. Graphic novel selection panel convener Dylan Horrocks reported “the successful applicants appear committed to working on substantial projects and will benefit in concrete and meaningful ways”.

Mentorships are offered by the NZSA every year with the intent of fostering and developing emerging writers with the support of established practitioners. The NZSA has run a highly successful mentoring programme for writers since 1999 and it is supported by funding from Creative New Zealand.

Find out about the 2016 mentees here.

For further information Claire Hill 09 379 4801 office@nzauthors.org.nz

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.