New Zealand Heritage Book & Writing Awards

2018 Competition open

Entry is open from 1 July to 20 August

Enter here

Strength From Struggle – remembering our courageous communities

There are four categories

  • Non-fiction book. (prize $1000), judged by Tom Brooking.
  • Novel or collection of short stories (prize $1000), judged by Fiona Farrell who won the fiction award last year.
  • Short prose – short story, memoir or article. Maximum 1800 words (prize $200). This award is judged by Owen Marshall and is sponsored by Wily Publications Ltd.
  • Poem – maximum 50 lines (prize $200). This is judged by Bernadette Hall.

We introduce you to our judges here.

All entries have to focus on some aspect of New Zealand’s heritage and should have at least a nominal connection with this year’s theme for Christchurch’s Heritage Week – ‘Strength through Struggle’.  The awards programme is held in conjunction with the Beca Heritage week in Christchurch which is a City Council initiative.

Workshops in Poetry and Prose are available to help you produce winning pieces. These will be run over four Mondays in July. Click here for more information.

The short list will be announced on 20 September 2018 and the finalist will be announced at an Award ceremony in October 2018 during Heritage week in Christchurch.

The competition is open to all New Zealanders resident here or abroad or others resident here. Self-published books provided they are printed are acceptable. We do not at this stage have the facility for e-books.

Cost of entry: Books $35, prose and poetry $15. You may enter more than once. Publishers may enter multiple books in one entry but prose and poetry entries must complete the entry form and pay for each entry.

Enter Here

For information on last year’s winners – see here