Chief Executive – Jenny Nagle

Jenny Nagle joined the New Zealand Society of Authors Te Puni Kaituhi o Aotearoa (PEN NZ Inc) as Chief Executive in June 2017. Jenny represents NZSA at We Create and is a board member of new pan-sector organisation, The Coalition for Books. NZSA collaborates across the literary sector with other organisations, including on creative rights advocacy through a Copyright Working Group with CLNZ, NZSA and PANZ.

She has worked in management, sales and marketing in trade and educational publishing in both New Zealand and Australia for over 35 years. She joined Hodder & Stoughton’s educational division in NZ, before moving across the Tasman, first with Thomas Nelson as Marketing Manager for the Schools Division, and then back with Hodder as Marketing Director of the Trade Division. Jenny was responsible for marketing and retail promotions, special sales, the wholesale division and Advance School Supplies, a direct-to-schools sales arm. While in Australia Jenny served 4 elected years on the Australian Publishers’ Association Trade Book Marketing Committee (Life. Be In it/Reading campaigns; Copyright Law Review) and served 4 years on the Children’s Book Council NSW committee and was responsible for marketing and sponsorship on the inaugural CBC National Conference committee.

Jenny has worked for Hodder & Stoughton, Thomas Nelson, HodderHeadline, School Supplies, Addenda, BestStart Educare and APN NZ (Kid’s Club) and on contract for the APA Small Publishers Association. Back in New Zealand she founded Addenda in 1996 (NZ agency sales and marketing representation for small and independent publishers) and in 2002 purchased Addenda’s third party distributor EDL from Boise Cascade which became PDL (sold 2004). Over the years she has attended international book fairs and worked with a host of writers for promotional tours and literary festivals. Jenny joined the Storylines Management Committee 2017-8.

Addenda won The Best of the Bestsellers Award from Booksellers NZ in both 1998 and 1999, for the most appearances on the bestseller lists for Rich Dad, Poor Dad. Jenny also managed the Commonwealth Writer’s Prize Final Programme in NZ in 2009 and is a Director of the children’s and young adult press OneTree House, founded in 2017. Contact Jenny Nagle

Programmes + Operations Manager – Claire Hill

As Programmes + Operations Manager, Claire oversees NZSA programmes, awards and key services.

At the core of NZSA are its member services for programmes, communications and awards and Claire facilitates the smooth running of these –  including management of the selection process, publicising the programmes and ensuring these programmes and awards themselves remain vital. Claire manages the website and oversees membership systems, comms and other services. She is in regular contact with NZSA’s members.

She is a writer and editor with a BA in Media Studies. Claire was managing editor and designer of School’s Out! magazine for six years and has worked on publications such as Te Rau Mata, Speak2Me, Go See Discover and AA Traveller. She co-edited Beyond the Free Market (Dunmore 2014) and works across platforms including websites, print and Ebooks. See author profile. Contact Claire Hill

Events – Kirsten Le Harivel

Kirsten Le Harivel manages our professional development events including our WebWorkshops and Regional Roadshows.

She is a writer, programme manager and founder of Writers Practice which offers craft, community and conversation for writers in Aotearoa. Her debut poetry collection Shelter came out in 2021 with The Cuba Press and she has an MA in Creative Writing from Victoria University of Wellington.

She works remotely from the Kāpiti Coast where she lives with her young family.
Contact Kirsten Le Harivel

Administration & Events – Sade Aroha Young

Sade Aroha Young provides administrative support across the organization, specifically towards the successful running of our digital learning programmes & awards, membership services and other learning opportunities.

She has a background in Marketing and Communications, graduating from the Auckland University of Technology with a Bachelor’s of Communication Studies and a minor in Japanese language. After which she applied her skills working for the Samoa Tourism Authority and then for a transpacific steel fabrication company as a senior in their Communications division.

Originally from Samoa, Sade has relocated to live and work in Auckland and is an avid reader who enjoys crafting poetry pieces in her spare time. She is dedicated to supporting literary culture in Aotearoa New Zealand and grateful for the opportunity to do so with the NZSA. Contact Sade Aroha Young

Audio & Special Projects – Elizabeth (Libby) Kirkby-McLeod

Elizabeth (Libby) Kirkby-McLeod is a New Zealand author whose poetry and writing have appeared in a range of New Zealand journals, online publications, and in the public art installation, In Our Words in downtown Auckland. She has also had several books published – see her author profile for more details.

Libby has been actively involved in the Auckland Branch for several years, including serving as current Secretary. She produces the NZSA Oral History Podcast, and NZSA Live! Podcast series, works to secure further NZSA oral histories on behalf of the organisation, and supports other national projects from time to time.

Libby has a First Class Master of Creative Writing from AUT, where she was a recipient of the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Study.


NZ Author Magazine Editor – Tina Shaw

Tina Shaw is the author of novels, children’s books and short stories. Her work history has mostly involved books and writing – from working as a freelance journalist to tutoring creative writing for an online school. She is a manuscript assessor, mentor, book reviewer, and for six years, until 2011, was Programme Manager for the NZSA. Contact Tina Shaw






Accountant – Nick Pinchin

Nick maintains our financial records, reports on our finances, and handles our financial administration, He started working for the Society in March 2017.

He is a professionally qualified accountant. Originally from the UK, he trained with a leading international firm and has had wide experience across a range of industry sectors both in senior management and project-based consultancy roles.

Nick has had long-term connections with New Zealand, dating back to a first visit in the 80s when he was in Auckland during the tour protests. He eventually moved here permanently in 2004. He lives and works in Auckland, where he worked for a time with the Grey Lynn Business Association and built up a accounting practice serving small business clients, some of which he continues to advise.

Nick isn’t a writer other than crafting more than a few business reports but is a keen reader, time permitting, and enjoys the opportunity of working for an organisation dedicated to the support and promotion of authors and writing.
Contact Nick Pinchin