Started in the early 1970’s by writers including Keith Sinclair, C K Stead, Maurice Shadbolt and Maurice Gee, Auckland is the largest NZSA branch. Through our meetings and events the Auckland branch connects authors in all stages of their writing career. Each month we host a guest speaker and all members are welcome to attend. Follow our Facebook page to keep up-to-date with our events and news.


Auckland meets on the first Friday of each month (except January) at 6.15pm, AUT Tower – cnr Rutland and Wakefield Street, Auckland – 12th floor, room 1211. This event is held in AUT tower, courtesy of AUT and its Master of Creative Writing course.

Please note – The Auckland Branch works to create meetings which are inclusive and welcoming. The meetings aim to be a great introduction to NZSA for new members as well as a place of community for all. For this reason the business part of the meeting is kept brief and finer points about the running of the branch are managed at committee level. For this reason NO NEW BUSINESS will be added to the agenda on the night and all are expected to act in a professional manner. If you would like something added please email the branch. Thank you from all members.

NZSA Honours List – find out which Auckland members were included in 2019.

Branch Chair: Weng Wai Chan
Secretary: Elizabeth (Libby) Kirkby-McLeod

Regional Delegate: Susan Battye

Auckland Branch NZSA Facebook page

Contact Auckland Branch

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.