President of Honour 2019 /20 – David Hill

 The NZSA is delighted to announce that David Hill is their 2019-2020 President of Honour.  This prestigious position is bestowed on a senior writer and long-serving member in recognition of his or her contribution to writing and writers and the literary arts sector in New Zealand.

Photo Credit: Robert Cross (VUW)

David Hill

 Some of my titles include See Ya, Simon (winner of a Times Educational Supplement Award in the UK and The Gaelyn Gordon Award in NZ); Coming Back (Le Prix D’Adolire in France and a White Ravens book); Right Where it Hurts (a White Ravens book, and The Esther Glen Medal for Children’s Book of the Year in NZ); Take It Easy (a Kirkus Notable Book Award in the USA; also winner of a Significant Book Award in Slovenia). A number of my other novels have been short-listed for the NZ Post Children’s Book Awards.

    Recent titles include a picture book, The Red Poppy (Scholastic NZ 2011: published in NZ, Australia, Canada); and the early teenage novels Sinking (Scholastic NZ 2013: published in NZ and Australia); My Brother’s War (Penguin NZ 2012: Published in NZ, Australia, the UK, Slovenia: Winner of the Junior Fiction Award and Children’s Choice Award, NZ Post Book Awards; also Librarians’ Choice Award from the NZ Librarians’ Assn. Winner of Significant Book Award in Slovenia; White Ravens Award from the International Bureau of Books for Young Adults); Brave Company (Penguin NZ 2013, a Storylines Notable Children’s Book Award in NZ); First to the Top: the Edmund Hillary Story (Storylines Notable Book Award; Children’s Choice Award, 2016). Enemy Camp, (Penguin Random 2016 Storylines Notable Book and Children’s Book Awards Finalist); Flight Path (Penguin Random 2017); Sky High: The Jean Batten Story (Penguin Random 2017; Children’s Book Award Finalist); So Special (Duck Creek Press / NZDF, 2017); Finding (Penguin Random 2018); Peter Blake, Hero of the Sea (Penguin Random, 2018); Joan Wiffen: Dinosaur Hunter (forthcoming from Penguin Random NZ).

    My short stories, plays, and rather dreadful verse have been published in / on The School Journal (NZ), Radio NZ, the BBC; Cricket and Highlights (both US); NSW School Magazines (Australia); Caterpillar (Ireland); Owl (Canada), A number of these works have also appeared in anthologies in the US, UK, Australia and NZ.

   I also write for adult readers. Short stories and plays have appeared in / on Radio NZ, The Listener, Takahe, Landfall, Bravado, and in several anthologies. I write book reviews, attempted satire and occasional feature work for a variety of newspapers and magazines.

    In 2005,  I received the Margaret Mahy Medal, for services to children’s literature. The previous year, I was awarded an MNZM for Services to Literature. Along with Elizabeth Smither, who received the same award for doing the same thing far better, I went out afterwards and we ate rather a lot.

Roll Call of Presidents of Honour from 1970 to present


Janet Frame Memorial Lecture

The President of Honour delivers the Janet Frame Memorial Lecture. The aim of the lecture is to deliver a ‘state of the nation’ address for literature and writing in New Zealand. More