Announcing the shortlist for the NZ Heritage Book Awards and Writing Competition – Canterbury Branch

The New Zealand Society of Authors Canterbury Branch, announced today the shortlist for the annual  NZ Heritage Book Awards and Writing Competition.


The competition pulled in entries from all around the country. Dame Fiona Kidman judged the novels, Jim McAloon the nonfiction books. The poetry was judged by Gail Ingram and Sally Blundell, the short prose.

Winners will be announced in mid October, during Heritage Week.

$1000 first prize for the books, $200 for short prose and poetry.


Tuai: Traveller in Two Worlds, by Alison Jones and Kuini Kaa Jenkins.
Bridget Williams Books.

New Zealand’s Rivers: An Environmental history, by Catherine Knight.
Canterbury University Press.

Voices of Belonging: A History of Clevedon – Te Wairoa, by Jessie Munro.
Steele Roberts.

The Great War for New Zealand: Waikato 1800-2000, by Vincent O’Malley
Bridget Williams Books.

Head of the Harbour: A history of Governor’s Bay, Ohinetahi, Allandale and Teddington, by Jane Robertson.
Published by Philip King.

The Big Smoke: New Zealand Cities 1840-1920, by Ben Schrader.
Bridget Williams Books.




Short Prose

The shortlisted entries are…

Arrival in Otakau by Melanie Dixon

Time is a River and I Am a Net by Jessica Maclean

On Tokatoka Hill by Caroline Barron

Pioneer Woman by Dianna Duckworth

Lands of No Return by Coral Atkinson

A Gift of Life by Jenny Haworth


The shortlisted poems are…

Ancestors by Ross Henderson

Reading the Sky by Janet Wainscott

But he was Frank by Mark Anthony Houlahan

The Passage South by Tim Jones

The Place of Starting Over by Tracy Chollet

Pilgrim’s Progression by Tony Hampton



The shortlisted titles are…

Decline & Fall on Savage Street, by Fiona Farrell

Good Sons: A Novel of the Great War, by Greg Hall
Mary Egan Publishing.

Daylight Second, by Kelly Ana Morey
Harper Collins.

Leap of Faith, by Jenny Pattrick

Through the Lonesome Dark, by Paddy Richardson
Upstart Press.

Lewisville, by Alexandra Tidswell
Submarine/Makaro Press.

The competition was fierce, in all categories, and we want to offer all shortlisted writers and publishers the warmest congratulations. Thank you to all the entrants and to Christchurch City Council’s BECA Heritage Week for making it possible!

We hope to see you all at the prizegiving on 18 October at The Malthouse Theatre!

The event will be free to all, so bring the friends and whanau along for an evening of celebrating NZ heritage and literature. Most of the judges will be there, and all these brilliant writers, and supper! Don’t miss it!


Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.