Congratulations to Nina Mingya Powles for making the 2021 RSL Ondaatje Prize shortlist

RSL Ondaatje Prize

The annual award of £10,000 for a distinguished work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry, evoking the spirit of a place.

RSL Ondaatje Prize 2021  The Shortlist

We are excited to announce the shortlist for the RSL Ondaatje Prize 2021.

Ruth Gilligan  The Butchers (Atlantic Books)

Louise Hare  This Lovely City (HQ)

Adam Mars-Jones  Box Hill (Fitzcarraldo Editions)

Nina Mingya Powles  Magnolia, 木蘭 (Nine Arches Press)

James Rebanks  English Pastoral (Allen Lane)

Francesca Wade  Square Haunting (Faber & Faber)

Watch our specially commissioned animations, by Pei-Hsin Cho, of the 2021 shortlist:

Please read the press release for further information.

This year’s judges are Lola, Baroness Young of Hornsey (Chair), Helen Mort and Adam Rutherford.

The winner will be announced on Tuesday 11 May.

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.