Emerging writers to receive manuscript guidance

NZ Society of Authors is delighted to announce this year’s CompleteMS recipients.


Thirteen writers with manuscripts spanning contemporary fiction, historical novels, crime / psychological narratives, poetry, short stories, speculative fiction and non-fiction have been chosen for the NZSACompleteMS programme. This programme gives each writer a detailed assessment and feedback on their manuscripts by one of New Zealand’s leading assessors.

Siobhan Harvey, convener of the 2016 selection panel along with writers Greg McGee and Penelope Todd, commented: “If the 57 applications we received are emblematic of the broader literary community, New Zealand writing is in good shape. Our panel considered that strong, effective writing and a clear structural outline were key elements of the successful applications. We were also drawn towards writing samples which, through crafted prose, drew us into wanting to read more of the work”.

Congratulations to the NZSA CompleteMS 2016 recipients: Noeline Arnott, Jane Blaikie, Catherine Clarke, Suzanne Day, Trisha Hanifin, Emma Hart, Anne Ingram, Rebecca Manawatu-Wixon, Jeannie McLean, Heather McQuillan, Emma Timpany, Elizabeth Welsh and Karen Zelas.

pic strip banner 300ppi

The manuscripts created by these writers range as widely as the places they call home: from Sumner in Christchurch, Te Aro in Wellington, Auckland’s Grey Lynn, Palmerston North, Waikanae and all the way to Frankfurt in Germany and Cornwall in England.

CompleteMS Manuscript Assessments are offered by NZ Society of Authors every year with the intent of fostering and developing emerging talent with the support of established practitioners. The NZSA has run a highly successful full manuscript assessment programme for writers since 1999 and it is supported by funding from Creative New Zealand.

Pictures and profiles of CompleteMS recipients of 2016

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.