National Flash Fiction Day – 22 JUNE 2017

22 JUNE 2017 – National Flash Fiction Day

NFFD_Type_Quill_logoJune 22, 2017 is our shortest day of the year — and the day we know and love as National Flash Fiction Day.

The competition this year will open February 15 – April 30. The 2017 judges are acclaimed poets Michael Harlow and Emma Neale.

New this year! A youth category, with award-winning children’s writer Fleur Beale and NFFD 2016 winner Heather McQuillan as judges.

Winners will be announced this year at our main events in Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin and Wellington. National awards, regional awards, micro awards, guest readers and more!

This year, we will also run the third annual Micro Madness series, in which 22 micros will be selected for inclusion, and three winners will be selected from the 22 finalists, and the second annual Tiny Tales series, which included stories of 250 characters — that’s characters, not words! 2016’s Micro Madness winners can be found here; the 2016 Tiny Tales series is here.

Last year’s winning stories were published in a special issue of Flash Frontier: An Adventure in Short Fiction.

More news and updates, including other publications and competitions involving New Zealand writers of compressed fiction, can be found on our Flash News page.