Entries open now: Warren Trust Awards for Architectural Writing

Entries to the annual Warren Trust Awards for Architectural Writing are now open. The annual competition is free to enter and invites the public to respond to the theme ‘How has architecture shaped your world?’ with a piece of creative writing.

The award, which is created by Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects, is an opportunity to engage with architecture in an inventive, meaningful and compelling way. Entries may take the form of original fiction, non-fiction, comic or poem. The competition is open to children and adults and awards prize money from $500 to $2,000 to the winners.

The 2023 judging panel includes Anahera Rawiri, a cultural strategist and Kaihautū/Principal at Jasmax; Sam Brooks, journalist, critic and award-winning playwright; and Ana Heremaia, interior architect and co-founder of ĀKAU, a multi-disciplinary, not-for profit design studio in Kaikohe.

Following the 2023 Warren Trust Awards for Architectural Writing, a book of winning and highly commended entries will be published online and in print, which will be available from Te Kāhui Whaihanga. Winning entries may be published in external media outlets. To read previous years’ winners, click here.

• Tamariki to 13 years, writing up to 800 words
• Rangatahi 13-18 years, or currently enrolled in secondary school, writing up to 1000 words
• Open 18-plus years, writing up to 1500 words

• Tamariki $500
• Rangatahi $1000
• Open $2000
• Highly commended (three prizes across all categories) receive a $200 book voucher

Key dates
Entries open: Monday 31 July
Entries close: Saturday 30 September at 11.59pm
Winners announced: Friday 20 October

To enter
View the Conditions of Entry and email your entry to writingawards@nzia.co.nz.

See more here.