NZSA Auckland Museum Research Grant + Residency

This Grant is no longer running.

The New Zealand Society of Authors in association with the Auckland Museum is delighted to offer a grant that gives the recipient the opportunity to develop a written project utilising the facilities and resources of the Auckland War Memorial Museum Library Te Pātaka Mātāpuna (hereafter “the Library”). The Grant is open to fiction, non-fiction and academic writers alike.

The Auckland Museum Library is one of New Zealand’s major research libraries. The depth of material available for use by the general public as well as academics and researchers, is highly valued throughout New Zealand and internationally. Formed in November 1867 as part of the Auckland Institute, the library has grown to include some outstanding collections relating in particular to Auckland, New Zealand and the South Pacific. In addition to a comprehensive historical book and scientific collection relating to New Zealand and the Pacific, the Museum Library holds over 3700 manuscript collections, early Auckland newspapers, journals, maps, ephemera, and provides access to a collection of 1.3 million photographs. There is also a bookplate (ex libris) collection of exceptional range and quality.

The Grant offers a stipend of $5,000 and is open to any current NZSA member.

Four weeks’ funded accommodation at the Michael King Writers’ Centre in Auckland is offered in addition to the stipend.  It can be taken in two blocks of two weeks.

Research must take place at the Library. The Library offers recipients reasonable copying facilities free of charge for the duration of the Grant, as well as guided access to the Documentary Heritage collections.

Auckland Museum Institute membership

The recipient will receive a one-year membership to the Auckland Museum Institute, valued at $50. Benefits of membership include:

  • Exclusive members-only behind-the-scenes experiences and in-depth field trips
  • One free guided highlights tour of the Museum for up to two people
  • A 10% discount at the AM Shop
  • Special member pricing for selected AM events, including LATE and Fazioli seasons
  • Access to our stimulating annual lecture series that includes renowned speakers from New Zealand and around the world
  • A seasonal What’s On guide posted to you quarterly, with regular eNewsletter updates throughout the year
  • A connection with the Royal Society of New Zealand Te Aporangi

For more information about the Museum Library visit

2011 – Michelle Elvy – National Grant

2011 – Tania Hutley – Local Grant

2011 – Sue Gee – Local Grant

2012 – Whiti Hereaka – National

2012 – Diana Harris – Local

2012 – Angela Lassig – Local

2013 – Jenny Haworth – National

2013 – Zoe Meager – Auckland

2013 – Joelle Thomson – Open Auckland

2014 – Douglas Lloyd Jenkins

2015 – Paolo Rotondo – National

2015 – David Veart & Lorraine Wilson – Auckland

2016 – Laurence Fearnley – National

2016 – Jenny Clay – Auckland

2017 – Joan Norlev Taylor – National

2017 – Geoff Allen – Auckland

2018 – Sarah Ell

2019/20 – Cassandra Tse