NZSA Lilian Ida Smith Award – Recipient Announced!

We are delighted to announce the winner of the NZSA Lilian Ida Smith Award 2015 is Auckland writer Caroline Barron.

With 73 entries for this award, the selection panel had a tough time deciding on a winner. The range and quality of the work submitted was impressive. Entries covered a broad range including novels, writing for children and young adults, poetry, drama, non-fiction and self-help books. Crime fiction, science fiction and fantasy were well represented.

Caroline Barron started writing at age 37 and completed her first manuscript this year. She is thrilled to be the 2015 recipient of the NZSA Lilian Ida Award, saying “The award is, firstly, a well-timed confidence-boost in this early stage of my writing career. Secondly, it is of immense practical assistance for the year ahead: I plan to use the grant for childcare allowing me time to write my second book, and for professional advice on the manuscript. My heartfelt thanks to Lilian Ida Smith for the bequest, the selection panel and NZSA for this award.”

The selection panel have Highly Commended the six shortlisted entries. Congratulations to Elizabeth Baikie, Catherine Clarke, Moyra Cooke, Helen Tau’au Filisi, Louise Maich, and Gerard James Smith on achieving a Highly Commended for the NZSA Lilian Ida Smith Award 2015.

Past recipients include Sue Orr, Rachael King, Bill Manhire, Lauris Edmond, Owen Marshall and Graeme Lay. Once again congratulations to NZSA Lilian Ida Smith Award 2015 recipient Caroline Barron!

About the Award
The Lilian Ida Smith Award was initiated when Lilian Ida Smith, a music teacher of Wanganui who had a keen interest in the arts, left part of her legacy to the NZ Society of Authors to ‘assist people aged 35yrs and over to embark upon or further a literary career’.

The biennial Lilian Ida Smith Award provides the successful applicant with an award of $3,000 to assist them towards completion of a specific project.

The first award was made in 1986. The amount of the award is obtained by accumulating interest on the capital of the bequest. The last award was made in 2011 as enough interest had not accumulated by 2013. The award is only open to financial members of the NZ Society of Authors who are aged 35 years or over.

Lilian Ida Smith Award recipients

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.