The 2023 Graeme Lay Short Story Competition is now open

·         Exclusive to NZSA members.


The 2023 Graeme Lay Short Story Competition is now open.

·         $500 first prize, $250 second prize, $100 third prize.

·         Closes 5pm, Monday 23 October 2023.

·         Only $10 to enter.


Enter online!


Conditions of entry:


  • The competition is open exclusively to all NZSA members.
  • All entries must be original and not previously published or broadcast.
  • Copyright remains with the author. The prize is cash only and not publication.
  • Entries should contain 1500 words or fewer.
  • The manuscript should be typewritten, on A4 sheets, double-spaced, with clear margins and saved as a PDF file.
  • A $10 entry fee is required to confirm entry.   Once you have entered, you will be emailed a copy of your entry form with payment details.
  • Members may enter as many times as they wish – a separate entry form and fee needs to be completed for each story.
  • Author’s name MUST NOT appear on the story.
  • Stories must have a title which should match EXACTLY what is on the entry form.


You can read all about last year’s winners here, or you can listen to the second and third prize winners read their  stories on our Facebook page:

1st place – Janet Holst – A Good Day

2nd place –  Stella Peg Carruthers reads Walking on Water
3rd place – Joseph Janiszewski, reads Sauerkraut Soup.

Good luck to all members!
From the Auckland Branch Committee

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.