The 2019 National Flash Fiction Day Competition runs February 15 – April 15.

Send your best 300-word story * Cash prizes * Adult and Youth competitions

Adult (19+)

First Prize: $1000 Second Prize: $400 Third Prize: $100*

Judges: Siobhan Harvey and Lloyd Jones

Youth (18 and under)

First Prize: $200 Second Prize: $100 Third Prize: $50

Judges: Eirlys Hunter and Gail Ingram

Winners will be announced June 22 at the National Flash Fiction Day celebrations, and all winners are invited to attend and share their stories.

NFFD 2019 in Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Northland and Wellington*

HOW TO ENTERTo enter the 2019 National Flash Fiction Day competition, please follow these easy steps


  1. Make your online payment here:

ANZ / National Flash Fiction Competition/ Acct No. 06-0350-0849733-00
include ‘Surname, First initial’ as a reference

  1. Once you’ve transferred your entry fee, send proof of payment (a screen shot will do – see the link provided) along with your NFFD story/ stories to nationalflash@gmail.com.
  2. You will receive confirmation of your entry within 72 hours. If you do not hear from NFFD, please email again.
  3. All entries must be received electronically. If you are not online and wish to submit, please have a friend submit via email.

2019 fees:

19+ category: $10.00 per story or $24.00 for 3 stories (3 stories max per entrant)

Youth (up to 18 years) category: $7.00 for 1-3 stories (3 stories max per entrant) — one fee for up to 3 stories!


(See General Rules for further details)

  • Submissions open 15 February – 15 April 2019
  • Competition open to all NZ citizens and residents
  • Open competition; no theme or prompt
  • Only previously unpublished work will be considered (see General Rules)
  • Deadline for submissions: 15 April 2019 (midnight)
  • Word limit for all submissions (all categories): 300 excluding title
  • 5 or double spaced, please
  • No font requirements, but make it clean – no fancy fonts!
  • Maximum 3 stories per entrant; please include your submissions in one document
  • Electronic submissions only, emailed to nationalflash@gmail.com
  • Please indicate in the Subject line of the email if yours is a youth or submission
  • Submissions must be sent as attachments (not in the body of the email)
  • Send one of the following formats: .doc, .docx, .rtf; please, no pdfs
  • Please, no pdfs!
  • Submissions must be received no later than midnight, 15 April 2019
  • Your name may be in the email and any enquiries made to NFFD in the gmail account, but do not include your name or contact info on the attachments. Any submissions with author name on the attachment with the story text will be disqualified.
  • Judges’ decisions are final. No feedback will be offered on an individual basis.
  • Long lists will be announced in early May and shortlists in late May.
  • Winners will be announced on National Flash Fiction Day, June 22.
  • Winners and short-listed work will be published in a special winter edition of Flash Frontier: An Adventure in Short Fiction.


  1. NFFD reserves the right at its total discretion to reject any entry in the Competition and to verify the validity of any entry or vote. All decisions of the NFFD shall be final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  2. Entries must be original, previously unpublished pieces of work written by the person who submits the piece of work. Published means anything that has already appeared anywhere in print or online, including personal websites or blogs.
  3. Entries cannot be altered or changed after they have been submitted.
  4. NFFD accepts no responsibility for late, lost or misdirected entries.
  5. NFFD is unable to return submitted entries. Entrants are advised to keep a copy of their entry for their records.
  6. The judges’ decisions are final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  7. The judges reserve the right to not award prizes, based on their judgment of the quality of submissions.
  8. Partners, parents and children of the NFFD Central Committee and current judges are not eligible to enter the competition
  9. Winners will be announced June 22 at the NFFD award ceremonies and all winners are invited to attend and share their stories in their province NFFD 2019 celebrations held in Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Northland and Wellington.
  10. A selection of entries will be published in a special winter edition of Flash Frontier: An Adventure in Short Fiction. Writers retain the copyright to their submitted short story regardless of whether or not it is chosen for publication. NFFD retains unlimited use of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place Short Story (all categories) for an unlimited period of time for any promotion or publication.
  11. The winners’ names, entry details, biographical information and photographs may be required by NFFD and will be used for publicity/promotional purposes without compensation. Entrants consent to this use of their details by entering the competition.
  12. The NFFD association, its committee members and its related agencies shall not be liable for any loss, damage or injury suffered or sustained (including but not limited to direct or consequential loss or loss arising from negligence) arising directly out of or in connection with the competition or any prize.

Entry constitutes acceptance of all National Flash Fiction Day Competition Rules and Guidelines.

* * *


SIOBHAN HARVEY and LLOYD JONES, Adult Category: ages 19+

Siobhan Harvey 1

Siobhan Harvey is the author of five books, including the 2013 Kathleen Grattan Award-winning poetry collection, Cloudboy (Otago University Press, 2014) and, as editor, Essential New Zealand Poems (Godwit, 2014). She’s a Lecturer at The Centre for Creative Writing, Auckland University of Technology, where she was nominated as a 2018 Champion, “an acknowledgement of women who have empowered, supported or driven the AUT community to be a better version of itself”. She won the 2016 Write Well Award (Fiction US) and was highly commended in the 2018 New Zealand Poetry Society International Poetry Competition. She has placed in many national and international competitions. The Poetry Archive (UK) holds a ‘Poet’s Page’ devoted to her work.



Lloyd Jones is a Wellington-based writer.

His books include: This House has three walls (Victoria University Press, 1997), the Man Booker shortlisted novel and winner of the Commonwealth Writers prize, Mr Pip (Penguin, 2007), The Book of Fame (Penguin, 2014), Hand me down world(Penguin, 2011), and a memoir, A History of Silence (Penguin, 2013). His most recent book is a novel, The Cage (Penguin RandomHouse, 2018).

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.