2017 New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults

The winners of the 2017 New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults will be announced on the evening of Monday, 14 August in Wellington.

Finalist Author Events
Young readers will have a chance to meet the finalist authors in early August, at three big events.
The first is in Christchurch (Monday, 7 August in association with WORD Christchurch);
then in Dunedin (Friday and Saturday, 11-12 August in association with Dunedin Public Libraries
and UBS Otago); and finally in Wellington (Monday, 14 August).

The New Zealand Book Awards for Children & Young Adults are made possible through the generosity, commitment and vision of funders and sponsors: Creative New Zealand, HELL Pizza, Book Tokens (NZ) Ltd, Copyright Licensing NZ, LIANZA, Wellington City Council and Nielsen Book Data.

The awards are administered for the New Zealand Book Awards Trust by the New Zealand Book Council.

The finalists for the 2017 New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults are:

Elsie Locke Award for Non-Fiction
From Moa to Dinosaurs: Explore & discover ancient New Zealand, by Gillian Candler, illustrated by Ned Barraud (Potton & Burton)
Jack and Charlie: Boys of the bush, by Josh James Marcotte and Jack Marcotte, Penguin Random House (Puffin)
The Cuckoo and the Warbler, by Kennedy Warne, illustrated by Heather Hunt (Potton & Burton)
The Genius of Bugs, by Simon Pollard, Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa (Te Papa Press)
Torty and the Soldier, by Jennifer Beck, illustrated by Fifi Colston (Scholastic NZ)
Russell Clark Award for Illustration
Fuzzy Doodle, illustrated by Donovan Bixley, written by Melinda Szymanik (Scholastic NZ)
Gladys Goes to War, illustrated by Jenny Cooper, written by Glyn Harper, Penguin Random House (Puffin)
If I Was a Banana, illustrated by Kieran Rynhart, written by Alexandra Tylee (Gecko Press)
Snark: Being a true history of the expedition that discovered the Snark and the Jabberwock . . . and its tragic aftermath, illustrated and written by David Elliot (after Lewis Carroll) (Otago University Press)
The Day the Costumes Stuck, illustrated and written by Toby Morris (Beatnik Publishing)
Te Kura Pounamu Award for books written completely in te reo M?ori
Ng? Manu Tukutuku e Whitu o Matariki, by Calico McClintock, illustrated by Dominique Ford, translated by Ngaere Roberts (Scholastic NZ)
Ng?rara Huarau, by Maxine Hemi, Illustrated by Andrew Burdan (Huia Publishers)
Te Haerenga M?ia a Riripata i Te Araroa, by Maris O’Rourke, illustrated by Claudia Pond Eyley, translated by ?ni Wainui, David Ling Publishing (Duck Creek Press)
Te Kaihanga M?pere, by Sacha Cotter, illustrated by Josh Morgan, translated by Kawata Teepa (Huia Publishers)
Tuna r?ua ko Hiriwa, by Ripeka Takotowai Goddard, illustrated by Kimberly Andrews (Huia Publishers)
Best First Book Award
Awatea’s Treasure, by Fraser Smith (Huia Publishers)
Like Nobody’s Watching, LJ Ritchie (Escalator Press)
The Discombobulation of Summer Rain, by Julie Lamb, Makaro Press (Submarine)
The Mouse and the Octopus, written and illustrated by Lisala Halapua (Talanoa Books)
Wars in the Whitecloud: Wairau,1843, written and illustrated by Matthew H McKinley (Kin Publishing)


Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.