2017 Pikihuia Awards Winners announced

The winners for the 2017 Pikihuia Awards for Maori Writers were announced last week at Te Wharewaka o Poneke in Wellington.

The 2017 Pikihuia winners and authors whose stories are included in HUIA Short Stories 12.


This year the Pikihuia Awards received over 130 entries and judge Whiti Hereaka was appreciative of the large number of writers contributing their stories.

‘Storytelling in all its forms is an intimate exchange between the author and the audience – the author makes themselves vulnerable, exposing their humanity to make a connection between their words and the audience. Sharing your work is often a difficult thing to do, so I’d like to acknowledge all the writers that have chosen to do so’ said Whiti.

Fellow judge Robyn Bargh was pleased to see the tradition of M?ori writers in families strengthening.

‘These awards have been held every two years since 1993 and I continue to be amazed at the numbers and range of M?ori people who are writing. You may be interested to know that several of the students who are finalists are second or third generation writers, ie, they have a parent and/or grandparent who is a published writer. So, we are now seeing intergenerational M?ori writers’ said Robyn.

Stories from selected finalists feature in the latest short story book HUIA Short Stories 12 which was also launched at the 2017 Pikihuia Awards.

The winners and runners-up for each of the six categories are as follows:

Best Short Story written in English, judged by Whiti Hereaka
Winner: ‘A Portrait of Sandra Dee’ by Lauren Keenan, (Te ?tiawa) Wellington
The Manu, the Coffin and the Old School by Pere Durie, (Ng?ti Kauwhata, Rangit?ne, Ng?ti Raukawa, K?i Tahu, Rongowhakaata, Ng?ti Porou) Papamoa
In the Shadow of Monte Cassino by Lauren Keenan, (Te ?tiawa) Wellington

Best Short Story written in in te reo M?ori, judged by Poia Rewi
Winner: Kaitiaki by Zeb Nicklin, (P?hauwera, T?manuhiri, T?hoe, Rangit?ne) Palmerston North
R?kei me te Taraute Nui by Iraia Bailey, (T?wharetoa) T?rangi
T??tea by Genesis Te Kuru White (Ng?ti P?keko, Ng?ti Awa, Ng?i T?hoe) Whakat?ne

Best Novel Extract, judged by Paula Morris
Winner: The Crystal Cave by Steph Matuku (Ng?ti Tama, Ng?ti Mutunga, Te ?tiawa) New Plymouth
Till We Kissed by Olivia Aroha Giles (Ng?ti Kahungunu, Te ?tiawa, Ng?ti Raukawa) Otaki
Obsidian Dream by Kelly Joseph (Ng?ti Maniapoto) Hokitika

Best Film Script, judged by Julian Arahanga
Winner: Clenched by Aroha Awarau (Ng?ti Maru, Ng?ti Porou) Auckland
Hawaiki by Nathaniel Hinde (Ng?ti Raukawa ki te Tonga, Ng?ti Porou, T?hoe) Wellington
Te Mura ? te Ahi by Pere Durie (Ng?ti Kauwhata, Rangit?ne, Ng?ti Raukawa, K?i Tahu, Rongowhakaata, Ng?ti Porou) Papamoa

Best Short Story Written by a School Student in te reo M?ori, judged by Kawata Teepa
Winner: Haututu by Tahu Potiki Te Maro-Doran, Otaki College (Ng?ti Porou) Wellington
Te Mate ? te P?reitanga by Anip?tene Biddle, Te Kura o te Koutu (Te Arawa, Ng?i Te Rangi, Ng?ti Raukawa) Rotorua
Pi… Pi… Pi… by Katarina Havekamp, Te Kura ? te Koutu (Ng?ti Porou, Ng?ti Toa Rangatira, Ng?ti Tama) Rotorua

Best Short Story Written by a School Student in English, judged by Robyn and Brian Bargh
Winner: The Couple by Nikau Wi Neera, Kapiti College (Ng?ti Toa Rangatira) Wellington
The Final Cut by Lucy Matehaere, Otago Girls’ College (Ng?ti Raukawa ki Waikato) Dunedin
Long Journey Home by Maia Kirikiri, Queen Margaret College, Wellington

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Copyright © 2015 The New Zealand Society of Authors | Developed by The Web Company