Storylines celebrated the winners of its major awards at a special event in Auckland on Sunday 28 March

2021 Storylines award-winners honoured

At the Storylines Margaret Mahy National Awards Day, recipient of the 2021 Storylines Margaret Mahy Award for lifetime achievement in children’s literature, Julia Marshall, gave the 2021 Storylines Margaret Mahy lecture.Her lecture outlined the genesis of and influences on her publishing company Gecko Press, but more importantly, perhaps, looked at the importance of others in inspiring, influencing cementing a love of reading in young people. “For every reader, she says, among many other, wise things: “there is this group of people, this village, that nudge the children to find those good books at just the right moment.”

Read the full text of Julia’s lecture.

Other awards to be presented were:

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.