Storylines Dame Kātarina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award

 The Storylines Dame Kātarina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award is open to all New Zealand writers and is made annually, when merited, to the New Zealand author of an unpublished work written originally in te reo Maori.
The award carries a monetary prize of $1500.

The next award will be made in April 2020, with the deadline for entries being 31 October 2019.

The Storylines Dame Kātarina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award was inaugurated in 2019 in association with Huia Publishing, and with initial support from Massey University Te P?tahi-a-Toi: School of M?ori Knowledge for prize for the successful writers. The award is also supported by the Māori Literature Trust.

The award recognises Dame Kātarina‘s outstanding contribution to New Zealand literature in te reo Māori, in her publishing output for children, young adults and adults, and her tireless work to promote the use of te reo Māori,.

The award is open to any New Zealand writer, published or unpublished, who meets the eligibility criteria on the Entry Form. (If in doubt, please seek a ruling from the Storylines Awards Administrator.) The  work MUST be originally written in te reo Māori (not a translation), and the writer can submit work in any genre: picture book, junior fiction, young adult, non-fiction.

Manuscripts, with accompanying form and fee payment, must be sent/postmarked no later than 31 October in the year of entry. The award winner is announced the following March and the published book launched the following year. Download the guidelines  and entry form here:

Storylines Dame Kātarina Te Heikōkō Mataira Award Guidelines 2020

Storylines Dame Kātarina Te Heikōkō Mataira Entry Form 2020

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Copyright © 2015 The New Zealand Society of Authors | Developed by The Web Company