Janice Marriott

2018 Margaret Mahy Medal winner

Janice Marriott with a young reader-7071Children’s author, screenwriter, mentor, audio producer, editor and teacher, Janice Marriott, was awarded the 2018 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal  for lifetime achievement and her distinguished contribution to New Zealand’s children’s literature at the annual Storylines Margaret Mahy Awards Day on 8 April. Her Margaret Mahy Medal was presented by Prime Minister and Minster for Arts, Culture and Heritage, Jacinda Ardern.

Janice then presented the Margaret Mahy lecture, a beautifully crafted analysis of the rungs on the literacy ladder, and how adults can enrich children’s experiences at home and at school through sharing words and stories.
You can read the text of her lecture here.
Or hear an interview with Janice on RNZ National here.

Twice winner of the New Zealand children’s novel of the year, Janice began her publishing career in 1989 with Letters to Lesley and Brain Drain, followed by a steady flow of children’s and YA novels, educational texts, short stories, radio plays and documentaries, scripts for the TV series The Wot Wots, as well as books on gardening for both children and adults. She has held writers’ residences at the Auckland and Dunedin Colleges of Education and judged several major books awards.

Over the past 15 years she has developed a parallel career as a sought-after creative writing tutor and mentor for tertiary institutions, online writing schools and for her own consultancy as editor and manuscript assessor.

Read Janice’s full publishing and professional profile here.
The Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal is New Zealand’s most prestigious honour for children’s authors, illustrators and publishers.

Among the 27 recipients since 1991 are Joy Cowley, Lynley Dodd, Jack Lasenby, Maurice Gee, Gavin Bishop, David Hill, Kate De Goldi and in 2017 Des Hunt.

Award Background

The Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal and Lecture Award was first presented in 1991 to Margaret Mahy in recognition of her contribution to the world of literature for children and young adults. Surprising Moments, her inaugural lecture, set the standard for those given by subsequent award-winners.

These published lectures by the champions of the New Zealand children’s literature community have enriched New Zealand’s literary heritage with their insight into the experiences, ideas, issues and concerns involved in writing and/or illustrating for children, improving literacy, and ensuring access to quality literature.

The award carries a monetary prize of $2000 and is presented annually to a person for their lifetime achievement and significant contribution to the broad field of children’s literature and literacy. This includes writing, illustration, publishing and academic fields. The address is published on the Storylines website immediately after the award presentation.

Nominations are open for the 2019 Margaret Mahy Medal.Nominations close on 31 October 2018. To make a nomination, fill in this form and email it to Storylines, or print it off and post.

Post a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.